Seattle, WA: And Then There Was One…

We got to Seattle in the mid afternoon and went to my friend’s Amanda and Miguel’s place.  Amanda and Miguel were a couple of my best friends from college.  I dated Amanda for around 9 months and Miguel was one of my best friends so it was awesome to be able to spend some time with them.  I’ve never had a relationship with a girl that I haven’t been friends with later, so I consider myself very blessed to have that be the case.  College was a very formative time in my life and these two people played a big role in my life during those years.  When we visited, Amanda was in her first year of law school and Miguel was working his first job after getting his Ph.D. as a vet.  They had both been in school for a long time and Amanda was still in school, so they were living on a mountain of debt, but they seemed to be happy, so that was good.  They had two pit bulls and I’d never really known a pit bull before, but they were two of the nicest dogs I’d ever met before.  They were also very cuddly and I like to cuddle with animals so that was nice.  We got to Seattle on Friday and Emily caught her train on Saturday.  It felt weird to be saying goodbye to my traveling partner, but its what she felt that she had to do, so it was good in that respect.  I dropped her off at the train station and we encouraged each other to keep doing good things and that was that.  Now it was Dan Truesdale’s Road Trip, instead of Dan Truesdale and Emily Summerfield’s.  And then there was one.  I’ve had a lot of people come and go in my life so I’ve gotten pretty used to it at this point.  I’m sure it will take some time to get used to her not being around, but I’m sure everything will work out for the best.  Now the decisions were all and only up to me and I had the freedom to do whatever I wanted, so I decided to stay in Seattle for a couple more days to spend time with Amanda and Miguel and their dogs.  After Emily left, Amanda and I went on this environmental awareness river tour of this river in Seattle.  It was a very interesting experience and I learned that this river that was right in the middle of Seattle was a superfund site.  A superfund site is a place that the US Government has designated as being among the most toxic and polluted places in the country and here it was, right in the middle of a big city.  Pollution from years of poor industrial practice and from the lifestyle of the people in the area had made this river into a really gross place.  The tour was very interesting and I learned a lot about the river, but I was disappointed with how they were encouraging the government to remedy the problem.  The process would be to dredge the river and take out the layers of gross muck at the bottom of the river and replace that with fresh, clean stuff.  They would then take the gross muck and put it in a landfill somewhere so that it would be someone else’s problem.  They would then make everyone clean up their act to prevent the river from getting contaminated again.  The common paradigm continues.  If something is gross, I’ll just throw it away and someone else will deal with it.  Maybe there is a bigger problem, maybe instead of putting the bad stuff somewhere else, why don’t we question why the bad stuff got their in the first place, why are we so resistant to digging down to find the truth?  I think its because being confronted with the truth requires people to change.  And its very hard to change, but changing the way we live is so necessary and it will be so good, so lets get going with it.

Anyway, they had a party at their house on Easter and Amanda had spent a good portion of the week prior to it cooking stuff.  She’s of Slovak decent and her family had always had lots of Slovak food at their Easter celebrations so she wanted to have some of that.  So there were pierogies, sauerkraut and lots of other things that I didn’t bother to learn the names because they were hard to pronounce, but it all tasted great, thanks Amanda.  If she goes on to continue her Slovak cooking it will become Mrs. Amanda Miguel Ortiz’s Slovakian food, haha.  Miguel is from Guatemala, their marriage is an interesting and good mix of cultures.  We went for a really long hike in the woods outside of Seattle the day before I left and that was a lot of fun.

Next stop: Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gideon on April 16, 2010 at 1:22 am

    Way to keep up the travelling momentum, and thanks for writing about it. Good travels and exploring to ya.

    Reply

  2. When you talked about cuddling with the dogs, Brendan and I both imagined you cuddling with Koinonia’s pigs.

    Brendan says you should visit the Bullock brothers while you’re up in that neck of the woods, here’s their website http://www.permacultureportal.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

